The media should include more stories which report good news. To what
extent do you agree or disagree?
It is sometimes argued that news coverage should focus more on good news. While I
partly agree with this view, I also consider that bad news should continue to be reported
when necessary.
There is a good case for believing that good news is under-reported. It is rare to read a
positive story which makes front page headlines. Yet it is surely essential that the
public are kept informed about some of the good things which are happening in the
world. In recent years, for example, breakthroughs have been achieved in the treatment
of certain types of cancer. It should form part of editorial policy to carry stories such as
these, because they have a positive impact on public morale.
However, it would be misguided to introduce restrictions on the reporting of tragic
news events. Civil wars and natural disasters, for example, may sadden viewers and
readers, but they are an unfortunate reality of the world today. While sensational
journalism may at times exaggerate, it is important for the public to keep abreast of
these happenings in order to have some informed knowledge of contemporary issues.
Sadly, for instance, there is relatively little good news to report on the host of
environmental issues facing the world. If these problems are ignored by the media, in the
interests of reporting cheerful news, then the chances will surely increase of an
ecological crisis. The media must act as watchdogs in the fight against climate change
and environmental degradation.
In conclusion, while I agree that important positive messages should be given more
publicity, it is also necessary for the media to continue reporting all the significant bad
news in the world today.