Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, people have a tendency to start a new life in a foreign nation for study or for work. Some people argue that living overseas where there are language differences may strike up both social and real-life challenges. In my opinion, I totally approve of this viewpoint and will present my reasons in this essay.

To commence with, it is true that people speaking different languages will have different culture backgrounds. Therefore, it is quite challenging for a person living abroad to gain a fully understanding about the culture of that country, including social norms and the ways they use language. As a result, taboos are definitely unavoidable during their daily life, which may lead to occasional misunderstandings among people. For example, the simple gesture of waving hands at each other may be considered friendly in some countries, but impolite in some others, which can easily cause unwanted offence.

Furthermore, language barrier may also cause some practical issues for people living overseas in their daily life. It is because the lack of vocabulary may make it difficult for them to understand what native people are saying as well as express their own ideas. As a result, they may feel confused and depressed for not being able to integrate into the surrounding new life. In addition, difference in language also prevent them from finding a well-paid job to make ends meet. It is due to the fact that all employers will obviously turn down an employee who could not even communicate with customers fluently, which may negatively affect the business’s productivity.

To conclude, I strongly believe that living in a language-different country is demanding as it may causes social misunderstandings and in-life difficulties, including integrating into a new atmosphere and finding a job to make a stable living.