Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Learning lessons by heart and ability to remembering them is a useful skill for students. Many people believe that, memorising important studies like theories, math rules, definitions and essays is the most significant skill to succeed in school. I partially agree to this concept, but not think that only memorising power can make a student successful in exam or study. In the following paragraphs I will explain the reasons for my view.

To begin with, being able to memorise lessons quickly and keeping them in memory for long time is obviouly advantageous. This helps students to study a vast amount of knowledge in a short period of time with less hard work. It is true that, learners who have this ability are able to do better in exams in most of the cases, particularly at primary and secondary level. Parents also motivate their children to study hard to memorise things, to become competitive with their peers. This is quite relevant in developing countries, where education system is not up to date and teachers teach their students in a traditional way.

However, only memorising information is not always helpful. Rather understanding the topic is more effective for being successful in the exam and real world. Students, who rely solely on memorising instead of realizing to topic in a true sense, can never do better than one who understand it. This is because, in modern education system, question pattern is changing from traditional memory based answring style to creative writing. This is even more true in the field of mathematics and science. In these fields, peers who can comprehend the theories and rules can answer the real exam questions better than who try to memorize. It is not always expected that the same questions will be common in real exam. When the questions is modified, fellows who memorised it fall in difficulties answering the question.

To sum up, memorising power is surely a good and advatageous skill, but not only or the most important way to be gainer in school. Combination of memorizing and understanding is the most beneficial and efficient way to be successful in academic and professional field.