Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a topic of discussion is raising that government funding should be diverted toward improving the living standard of ordinary people instead of using it to discover other planets. there are both for advocating and against this view, I believe it depends on different reasons.

it is undeniable that the exploration on space annual basis without caring about huge budget brings out negative growth. Initially, the government should spend money on improving the fundamental life of the disadvantaged. In other words, the globe present-days is facing lots of harsh situation relating to thirsty, starving, poverty, and so forth, so it is very noteworthy that the legislators need to use currency to address those tough problems. For instance, people who still live in a remote, difficult, mountainous areas are the individuals must be provided a huge funding to amend their life being better. As a result, the authority's priority right now is addressing the ugly circumstances of entire citizens and making total resident’s life become balanced.

However, I am more convinced that space programmes contribute considerably to the well-being of the earth in some aspects. Firstly, our planet is now facing an unprecedented resource problem, which can be tackled only by discovering and mining new resources on space. In addition, the overuse and scarcity of some resources on the earth is a severe problem, so those rare metals such as gold, silver, and so forth although rare on earth, might abound on other planets. Secondly, the world’s population is now growing to a stage that requiring human have to find out another replacing place where can be suitable for people’s re-settlement off the planet. Particularly, there are countless planets orbiting stars throughout the universe, one can be confident that at least one of them is consistent for our second home planet if we have trouble about our ecosystem in not so far day. For example, Mars, bearing a close resemblance to the earth, is considered a potential backup.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that space research is crucial enough to pay gigantic budget to discover in place of getting those cash to reforming human’s living standard, I think this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.