In modern societies, it is possible for people to go shopping, work and

communicate via the internet without face-to-face communication. Is it a positive

or negative development

The past few decades have witnessed the prevalence of Internet-based

comunication, shopping and transaction activities. From my perspective, this

development presents both positive and negative aspects equally.

On the one hand, the unrestricted access to the Internet has benefited greatly the public for its convenience and comfort. It is undoubted that telecommunication tools including email, instant messaging or social networks facilitate people’s interaction, bringing people closer together. For instance, an international student or a foreign worker in the USA can deliver a message to his friends or family back home in Vietnam, only at the click of a mouse regardless of geographical barriers. Another example is that shoppers can seek out items or services of the finest quality without engaging in lengthy commutes, especial

during extreme weather conditions like torrential rain or scorching heat of the

summer.

On the other hand, certain detriments are associated with the excessive Internet use. The over-reliance on virtual communication is the primary cause of the decline in social skills which are crucial for real-life contact. It is not uncommon for heavy social network users to feel awkward when trying to strike up conversations with strangers or make small talk about social events. Thus, these people might eventually become socially alienated and suffer from a great sense of solitude. Another harmful aspect is the diminished physical and mental condition. The overindulgence in the virtual world would undoubtedly trigger a sedentary lifestyle, which is responsible for a number of health-related problems such as impaired vision, obesity or the inability to process and express emotions.

In conclusion, both positive implications on certain aspects in life and negative impacts on lifestyle and health can be seen considering the uncontrolled Internet use for shopping, working and communication purposes.