Modern societies need specialists in certain fields

Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, big universities from all over the world provide hundreds of subjects for students who chose to study further and get a degree in a certain field. Many of this subjects transform students into specialists that are needed by society and other subjects are less relevant. Some believe that the government should pay university fees for those who chose a course that is useful to society. It is refuted that the number of the advantages of such an educational policy is bigger than the drawbacks.

First of all, free courses in certain fields could attract people who are unsuited to a particular field. For example, a student who enjoys studying foreign languages and hates Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry would definitely not have the necessary skills to becoming a doctor. But considering the fact that medicine would be a free course, they might tend to chose medicine instead of studying languages. Therefore, it is not an option for government to pay university fees, because this might lead to a society full of failed practitioners.

Secondly, having access to free courses would determine students to drop out more often than usual, or chose not to get jobs in the target subject. Take, for instance, students that pick a course, which they find out during the years of study they do not like, but because of the big amount of money they have paid for the course, they do not quit. However, if the courses were paid by the government, they would certainly drop out more easily, money being no longer a problem. From this, it can be concluded that such an educational policy is not the best solution.

Following the analysis of students unsuitable for certain fields and students dropping out because money would not be an issue anymore, it is clear that the advantages of such an educational policy do not outweigh the disadvantages. It is expected that such a policy will not be applied in the near future