Modern technology is now very common in most workplaces. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

In the last decades the breakthrough of technology has affected most aspects of our life. It is said that the process of computerisation is also encroaching upon the traditional ways of how work is performed. Although some kinds of employees will be replaced by digital advancements, I believe that automation will give millions of workers opportunities to have more spare time for their hobbies.

On one hand, industries that require mechanical or physical force will be automated with the usage of Artificial Intelligence. This is because such processes do not consider the power to think or analyse situations. It means that quantity of mistakes caused by human factor will significantly decrease and production process will become faster. For instance, Japan Employment Centre claims that number of employees dropped by 60% on local factory upon the introduction of robotic mechanisms there. Thus, the automation of production industry will cause millions of people their jobs.

On the other hand, this process will give people more free time. The reason for it is the speed of digital machines, which is higher than human’s. Hence the time of work for people will decrease, so they will have more opportunities for developing their other skills of enjoying time with family members. For example, The Times magazine has put out an interview with an accountant, who got an AI as his assistant: he claimed that after installation he only needs to check the final results and correct very few mistakes of the program, so he was finally able to celebrate his Birthday with his family. In other words, automation lets people to spend more time as they want instead of doing same mechanical work every day.

Even though many people will be replaced by the digital advancements, I am of an opinion that AI usage in working industry will lead employees to more opportunities and less hard physical work.