In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern civilisation, opinions differ as to whether it is superior to use other types of materials in lieu of animals to make food, clothing items and medicine. While I partly agree with this notion, I would advocate that animals still play such an indispensable role in the production of necessities.

On the one hand, a vast array of factors has convinced me to believe that products made of animals are no longer the top priorities of individuals. Firstly, numerous people are currently prone to have vegetable-based diets rather than those based on animals because many studies have proved that vegetables can provide adequate nutrients and essential minerals. Therefore, consuming vegetables could reduce the risks of contracting potential cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack or stroke. Furthermore, excessive utilisation of animals to satisfy human’s purposes could be considered to be one of the determinants putting a great number of animals on the verge of extinction. To illustrate, Vietnamese authorities have categorised wild tigers as an endangered species since poachers kill them to have their bones, which is thought to be a good ingredient to make medicine. Consequently, these illegal actions might lead to the loss of biodiversity and genetic structures.

On the other hand, there are a host of justifications prevailing me on conceding that humans still need to use animals to manufacture necessities. The first reason is that animals’ meat can be more nourishing in comparison to vegetables. This can be exemplified that the amount of protein and omega 3 in tuna or seafood might be higher than those in water spinach or carrot. Accordingly, eating enough meat could provide sufficient energy for bodies to function properly. Moreover, animals are considered to be ideal subjects for verifying new vaccines or drugs. For instance, before introduced to public, Covid-19 vaccines had been tested on rats in order to help scientists realise whether the treatment is suitable for humans. Hence, but for the contribution of animals, Covid-19 virus would infect rapidly and uncontrollably.

In conclusion, apparently, it cannot be denied that sacrificing animals’ lives for the purposes of humans would have plenty of ominous bearings; nevertheless, I want to affirm that animals are still crucial in the manufacture of food, clothing items and medicine.