Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Perhaps the greatest threat to the whole world is currently not atomic bomb, terrorism or an outbreak of population but climate change and environmental degradation. Whether we should try to accept it rather than stop it is a controversial topic. And I totally disagree with this view for the reasons I will outline below.

To begin with, there are various measures that governments and individuals could take to stop, or at least, mitigate climate change. Government could introduce laws to limit carbon dioxide emission which leads to global warming, the main cause of climate change. For instance, it is crucial to impose “green” tax on industrial field and invest in renewable energy production from solar, hydro, and wind power which are believed eco-friendly. Furthermore, every individuals should contribute by utilizing public transportation in lieu of private vehicles and planting as many trees as possible.

If instead of taking the above solutions but simply trying to adapt to it, I suppose that the forward consequences are catastrophic . The Arctic polar ice melt, rising sea level, increasing temperature, depletion of ozone layer are all connected and have huge impacts on human’s life. Take the unpredicted flood in the Central of Vietnam, happening last summer, resulted from climate change as an example . Thousands of residents became homeless and jobless, as a result, and the total damage was uncountable. The potential of human suffering would be huge, and it is possible for the outburst of disease and famine as well as lost prosperity.

To conclude, for our own existence in the mother Earth, we should take immediate actions both in individual and governmental level to prevent the climate change. Otherwise, we may fail to save our planet.