We can get knowledge from news, but some people think we cannot trust the journalist. What do you think? What qualities do you think a successful journalist should have?
Because of their prevalence, media have had a great impact on people’s lives in
the modern world. While many people are thankful to media for being
informative and knowledgeable, many cast doubts on the information they obtain
from sources such as newspapers or television programs due to questions of the
journalists' honesty. I am inclined to believe that the public should access
information through media with a critical eye.
To begin with, it is true that the majority of journalists have to follow their boss’
visions when they are performing their duties and thus cannot convey everything
honestly. Journalists usually do their job by following themes, focusing on the
youth for instance, or in a narrowly focusing on the subjects they are assigned.
This causes the true, complete story to be broken into pieces to suit the limitation
of their column or allotted broadcast time, bringing about unclear and inaccurate
messages to audiences, not to mention the fact that sometimes descriptions can
be changed to grab the audiences’ attention. Moreover, advertisements,
business, and sometimes politics are working behind the scenes, influencing
journalists to change
However, it seems unfair to generalize such a controversial field. Many journalists
have fought for truth. The illegal activities of industrial corporations, who try to
sneak through the flaws in regulations to gain profits for their own, have been
uncovered; cheating in elections and stories about human trafficking or powerful
people’s illegal actions have been journalists’ consistent and sometimes lifethreating works. Those journalists have contributed to exposing the truth, thereby
establishing more equal societies.
To become successful journalists, some features could be considered as
standards. First, writing ability is a must. This means not only being proficient in
writing language, but also being able to communicate news brilliantly. Second,
critical thinking and analyzing capabilities are highly regarded since these help
journalists grasp and determine what is critical to be published. Finally, the
eagerness to create good media also contributes to define successful journalists.