In the modern world, more and more emphasis is being placed on acquisition of practical skills rather than knowledge from textbooks or other sources. Discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

In the contemporary era, it is cleverness and prowess that are implied to be underlying requirements to be fruitful in society. Notwithstanding, attainment of pragmatic skills is being accentuated more than proficiency in academics or other counterparts. This tendency brings about both cons and pros.

To catch up with the developing civilization, expertise and consciousness are minimum stipulations. Paying more attention to skills, however, youngsters will have competences to iron out their societal obstacles which they are not taught in their educational institutions. Throughout the skill-training process, young adults also attain a wide range of experience that is needed for hereafter jobs. With good qualifications and particular skills, people will have dominances to win good jobs. Absolutely, the trend is that more and more recruitments lean on applicants’ grasp and expertise. Thus, it is undeniable that mastering factual skills is utter utility.

On the contrary, it is worth contemplating that there are adverse consequences of this phenomenon. In particular cases, emphasizing excessively on skill can prompt a decline in academic results. Adolescents put themselves into activities to advance prowess so superfluous that they take schooling for granted. There is a significant abatement in the ratio of annual graduation as a result of this propensity. Giving prominence to skills, juveniles tend to be a dearth of theoretical acquaintance; ergo, they are consistently in the inadequacy of cognitive competence. Notably, factual awareness involves skill-building. If lads lack comprehensibility, skills will be dysfunctional. Crucial as prowess is, savvy is still indispensable.

All in all, this category of assessment not only consists of merits but demerits as well. Both erudite and adroitness have the commensurate imperative, hence it is paramount to cogitate about striking a balance between those facets.