Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

Volunteering can be seen as a crucial segment of school curriculum

because it brings about many benefits. Obviously, the majority of people

suppose that high school students should be forced to participate in unpaid

community service and I partly approve of the above idea because of many

rational reasons.

There are various justified reasons why I believe that unpaid

community service should be obligatory. Undoubtedly, volunteering teaches

students to empathize with strangers, not to be so indifferent to them when

they need people’s help. Furthermore, unpaid community service allows

students to have many opportunities to gain some soft skills such as

communication or team work since they have chances to work and cooperate

with a large number of people in society and these characteristics have a

significant influence on their studies and also decide their future careers

because employers usually highly value people making great contribution to

society.

Contrary to these advantages mentioned above, there are still some

drawbacks of this issue. Obviously, high school students spend most of their

time on their studies because high school curriculum is overwhelmed by

difficult subjects such as Math, Chemistry, Biology...and they can study these

subjects within a limited period of time... If unpaid community service is

mandatory, students can not balance their time and they will face challenges

in the academic area and sometimes, they may fail in some important exams

and this negatively affect their results .

In conclusion, everything has both benefits and drawbacks and unpaid

community service is not an exception. However, I suppose that the

advantages absolutely outweighs the disadvantages because volunteering can

shape children as socially responsible citizens and their all-round

development.