Money for postgraduate research is limited. Some people, therefore, think that financial support from government should be only provided for scientific research rather than research for less useful subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Although in many countries the financial subsidy for postgraduate research is restricted due to a host of reasons, I do not agree with the idea that governments should only sponsor scientific research. Actually, theoretical and humanity researches are also important to the development of the society.

It is understandable that from the perspective of utilisation, experimental research should deserve more financial support. People argue that it is the scientific research that bring about the update of technology, which as a consequence become the driving force of the society. Taking the biological research as an example, which is recognised as one of the most cutting-edge technologies, also need huge budget in purchasing equipment and experimental materials. Therefore, appropriate financial aid is necessary for scientists' further study. In addition, the result of those researches could be profitable in the long run, which will positively stimulate the economic development of a country.

However, despite the fact that experimental science has direct influence on the progress of society, financial support should not only be poured into scientific research. This is mainly because theoretical and humanity subjects such as astronomy, maths or arts, are also of great significance. Firstly, some of the basic subjects offer theoretical basics on engineering and technology. Those subjects such as philosophy and maths, should also be emphasised by the governments. Furthermore, the economic utilisation should not be regarded as the only standard when appraising a country's development. Humanities should also be taken into consideration, which are based on the prosperity of literature and arts. As a result, those subjects' researches also worth subsidies offered by governments.

In conclusion, while scientific research is important and should get sponsorship from the governments, financial supports should also be allocated to other subjects for the sake of developing a well-round society.