The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government in some countries spending large amount of money on space programs. I completely disagree on the statement that spending money on space exploration, money should allocate on public service.

There are several reasons why space programs should be abandoned. Firstly, it is extremely expensive to train scientists and other stuff involved with space mission, and facilities and equipment also come at huge cost of government. Secondly, these programs do not benefit normal people in our daily lives; they are simply vanity projects for politicians. Finally, many missions to space are fail completely, and the smallest technologies error can cost astronauts their lives. The challenger space shuttle disaster showed us that space travel extremely dangerous, and in my opinion, it is not worthy the risk.

I believe that the money from space programs should go to vital public services instead. It I s much cheaper to train doctors, teachers, police and other public service workers that it is to train astronauts or the scientists and engineer who work on space exploration projects. Furthermore, public servants do jobs that have a positive impact on every member of society. For example, we all use schools, hospitals and roads, and we all need the security that the police provide. If governments reallocated the money spent on space travel and research, many thousands of people could be lifted out of poverty or given a better quality of life.

In conclusion, my view is that government should spend money on services that benefit all members of society, and it is wrong to waste resources on projects that do not improve our everyday lives.