The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as schools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that space exploration funded by the government should be allocated more to public facilities such as schools and hospitals. I disagree since the space program would benefit people in technologies and finding new discoveries.

The advancement of technology is the significant impact of the government investing heavily in space exploration, creating a more convenient living. To put it more simply, many aspects of human living depend on space to operate, such as communication. Having to evaluate regularly the communication technology in space would improve the quality of human communication on earth. In 2018 Indonesian government partnered with SpaceX to undergo research regarding the 5G technology in mobile phones. Two years after the research collaboration ended, the technology emerged and was widespread among big telecommunication companies in many nations. This can be succeeded without the investment allocated by the Indonesian government to space programs.

Also, investing heavily in space activities leads to more scientific discoveries as many parts of space are still left unexplored. The new findings would help scientists answer the leftover questions regarding the universe, hopefully tackling problems found on earth. For instance, only after the expedition of Apollo launched and landed safely on the moon did people learn that sea levels are, to some extent, influenced by the moon’s gravity. These discoveries have helped fishermen leverage their schedule in finding fish and determine which time is the safest for them to sail. Hence, allocating the government’s budget to space programs is not a waste of money.

In conclusion, the emergence of top-notch technologies and new findings are the positive impacts of spending the government’s money on space exploration. If possible, the government needs to increase its budget to compete with other nations.