Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the government nowadays is funneling a huge chunk of its budget in space exploration, people often express their dissatisfaction as they opine that the money could be spend to benefit the nations. While I agree with the fact that a nation should use its funds wisely for the betterment of its people before any extraterrestrial project, I also believe the search of the unknown must not be haulted completely, which are expressed in the forthcoming paragraphs as well.

Pitching in for the development of the space sector in competition to deveoped nations can cause detrimental consequences to a third world country. At present, many countries around the globe are facing crisis over issues like poverty, shortage of drinking water, mass hysteria, et cetra and in those condition mobilizing the country's funds in space exploration rather than solving the prevailing problems would not be a wise decision. Furthermore, the collapse of Nepal's economy after investing on a satellite program back in 2015, shows how a developing country should limit its bounds to providing proper facilities to the citizens like healthcare, education and transportation, before wasting its funds in something as irrelevant as space exploration.

In the meantime, developed countries, like the United States, Russia, and Switzerland, should not hold back on the curiosity of space exploration. As these first-world countries have enough disposable funds, setting apart a chunk of it for space exploration would not cause any harm to the economic condition of the nation as well as the people residing there. Furthermore, the dream of space exploration can be credited for many technological advancements made throughout the century, inculding rocket engines, mars rovers and even marsian helicopter, which wouldn't be possible if proper funding to such projects of exploration aren't provided. A recent study by NASA stated that nearly half of the technological advancements open to public were first intended for projects for space expedition, which perfectly exemplifies how current technology is influenced by the space sector.

In conclusion, as the exploration of space has become a race nowdays, the involvent of developing nations to the race despite the declining infrastructures had been a problem, which must be stooped while for first-world nations it has helped in various innovations. Hence, I believe that countries witl smaller economies should limit their investments to smaller projects and focus in upliting the status of nation first, while the ones whith enough disposable funds should keep the curiosity of space exploration alive.