Public celebrations (such as national days, festivals etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things. Do you agree or disagree?

The public display of culture through celebrations has been a matter of debate for years as most people argue for its necessity as it contributes to a huge loss in the nation’s capital. In the meantime, certain groups of people often express their dissatisfaction to the government cutting funds to such events, debating in support of large public celebrations, with the argument that those public celebrations are the sole identity of the nation. Both the arguments are much compelling as there doesn’t exist a harsh dark and light in the situations, but it lies in the gray area in actuality.

Public celebrations including festivals, jatras(cultural rallys popular in Nepal), national days, ets are unique to a culture,group or a place, and are the markers for their identity. So, cutting funds to those celebrations for sparing some bucks for the government might risk these unique heritages to go to extinction as we move throughout the years. Moreover, it may risk the extinction of an entire culture which for a country with a diverse heritage like Nepal, based predominantly on cultural tourism might be a much bigger problem in the future. The government cutting corners in some public celebrations while not in others, might also come off as discriminatory to the people of different cultures having their faith attached to those events.

On the other hand, in the time of an economic crisis like the one we are currently in, the government spending their funds off lavish displays and events could be debated as an unwise decision. People can debate how those funds can be utilized in works of social reforms and development rather than a lavish display. Furthermore, as the government has its own limitations for the sources of revenue, spending it off for events which might bring profit to the nation through tourism rather than on solid projects and developments works that are guaranteed to bring back the investment would be a better decision if taking things logically.

Taking all those things in consideration, it is fairly a matter dependent upon the situation and the economic state of the nation. If I were the one to decide, considering the current situation of the government, I would probably choose to mobilize the funds to development projects rather than extravagant public displays.