More and more couples are deciding to be "child-free", to have no children, in other words. Some people claim that those couples reach this conclusion through entirely selfish reasons. While others think that they came to this decision through noble motives, such as concern about overpopulation and desire for independence. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an increase in the number of couples who decide to not have children. While many people argue that those people are being selfish in making such decision, I think that this action is understandable for multiple reasons.

Firstly, from the view of a couple who wants to be child-free, the most common argument might be that raising a child is too expensive. Having children is not only feeding them and giving them a shelter to stay, but also providing them with education and a safe place to develop. Another important factor is that children need a lot of emotional support from their parents, which includes loving, caring, communicating and so many more. People who were mistreated, abused and felt un-valued thorough their childhood usually run away from their household or stop talking to their parents at some point. Therefore, people who feel like they are emotionally and financially incapable would choose to not have children. In overpopulated regions or poor countries, many people decided to be childless because they do not want to raise the child in overcrowded areas, with such bad infrastructure and a bad environment.

However, many countries are witnessing incredibly low rates of childbirth, in Japan, for example, this rate has dropped to almost 1.3%, urging the authorities to push out plans for raising fertility rates in the country. The older generation blames this trend on the youth, saying that they are being selfish for not getting married or having children. Nevertheless, from the viewpoint of the younger folks, they all feel like they are too busy to indulge in those activities, and as a part of the young generation, I agree with them. Rather than giving birth to a child because society said so, no-child couples can use their time for self-development and if one day they feel capable, they can then have a child of their own.

In conclusion, I think that having a child is more than adding another member to the family, it is such a demanding task that requires devoting a lot of time, money and energy. Childless couples made the decision not because they were selfish, they came to the decision through good intentions and their choice should be respected by others.