More and more newspapers and news channels are using photographs to support their news articles and stories Some people think photographs are not a reliable source of news while others consider photographs to be irrefutable Discuss both sides and give you

A segment of society opines that images are indispensable in delivering information to the public. A segment of society opines that images are indispensable in delivering information to the people while others think that they are not truthful. This essay will further discuss both facets with appropriate examples then reach a logical conclusion.

Using photos in bulletin and press may clearly assert writers' opinions. In other words, having some photographs in op-ed articles or current affairs - which provide visual testaments, may reduce the likelihood of being hoax- news. Providing readers are informed about a felon in a press report with actual illustration about his victims, they will put more trust on that piece of information. This can be proven in many reputable newspapers like BBC or The Guardian, where their press photographers have been providing high-resolution images to compel readers since their establishment.

Since the arrival of yellow journalism, the credibility of pictures in newspapers have been undermined. In many tabloids and coverage, photoshopped images, which may serve the goal of propaganda or financial gain, are being presented as genuine. To be more specific, pictures without endorsement are likely to be used to mislead the public or create and thus, maximizing readership. In 2010, an illustrious politician in Vietnam was criticized for raping a juvenile. That sexual scandal was created by a picture, showing a man like him in a pornographic video, which was then reconfirmed by the authorities.

To conclude, though image sources from articles and TV channels may be somewhat truthful, I firmly believe that people should not be persuaded just by looking at those pictures, with some of them are changed to deliberately mislead the public. So having them in an article is merely a choice as they are no longer solid visual proofs.