The impact that growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people traveling by air is to increase taxes on flights To what extent do you think th

The implications of an upsurge in demand for travelling by air for the environment is an alarming concern. A segment of society opines that imposing more tax on aviation industries can ameliorate this problem. In this essay, I will not only give some explanations why I advocate this idea, but also propose a practical alternative.

By introducing frequent flyer levy (LFF), the government may restrain aviation emissions. To be more specific, the more flights people take, the more they have to pay .According to a survey, 70% of flights are made by a wealthy 15% of the population. Focusing specifically on taxing frequent flyers would considerably reduce plane usage without limiting access to mobility for the many. Perhaps customers will consider thoroughly before purchasing any aviation services, simply because the tax on the 3rd flight is double than that on the 2nd.

Another pragmatic measurement to curb aviation emissions is a shift to environmentally friendly aeroplanes. By virtue of technological advancements, it may be feasible for our aircrafts to run on electricity or sustainable biofuels. It has been predicted that the atmospheric warming impacts by contrails( a trail of hot condensed water and Co2 released while airplanes fly, which may exacerbate global warming) can be halved in the following century if we cut down on non-renewable energy consumption. Therefore, the global temperature is likely to be limited to 25% of the current levels.

Taking everything into consideration, imposing more taxes on aviation services would be a sensible solution to the escalating environmental concerns. Besides, by chaging aircraft technology, emissions should be managed within an international framework.