More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Discussions regarding being overweight have significantly soared in popularity. It is sometimes argued that a price hike on rich fat foods is the best solution to this issue, whereas I am of the opinion that there are various measures such as portion control to deal with this problem.

On the one hand, the idea of the burgeoning price of fattening products is beneficial to some extent. Firstly, this solution dissuades individuals who are becoming obese from consuming fast foods due to their saving money. Consequently, should they want to save money and consume large meal portions, they will purchase healthy foods such as vegetables and no-lipid products. Furthermore, when the fattening food prices increase, and buyers still want to consume it, they have to bolster their work time to earn more money to buy those foods. Therefore, calories will be decreased if obese people are in charge of more workloads.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I also believe that portion control curbs the obesity epidemic. The factor relates to portion control which persuades overweight people to consume fewer calories per meal. If portions are decreased for every meal, it could lead to people consuming fewer calories per meal and thus becoming less obese. For instance, creating bowls smaller encourages individuals to consume less food. To be specific, if fast-food restaurants apply this method to their menu, it could potentially decrease obesity rates.

In conclusion, although a price hike on fattening foods presents benefits, I contend that it should not be the only solution to decrease obesity rates. It is advisable that other methods such as portion control be more effective.