More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that increasing the price of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent time as individuals are carrying out a hectic lifestyle, consumption of healthy diet with fewer calories has been taken for granted. Consequently, this attitude has eventually escalated the number of people under the influence of obesity. It is argued by many that burgeoning the price of fat rich food can address this concern. However, I disagree with the resolution provided and I will explain why.

Hiking the price of fattening food can badly affect people coming from weaker economical background as they might no longer afford these fat products which is also an important part of nutritional diet. Furthermore, it is a myth carried by majority of the masses, that fat in all forms has a detrimental effect on cholesterol level. Notably, trans fat should be discarded from the meal not all forms of fat. Moreover, amongst carbohydrates, proteins and fats, fats has the least impact on the level of insulin in body. Consequently, variation in insulin level is one of the main causes of problems such as diabetes, thyroid and so on.

Individuals on the other hand also claims, increasing price will discourage people buying fatty products which certainly can result positively in reducing consumption of these foods from daily meal. In addition to this, it is also believed, this step will force people to investigate the reason behind the price rise which will eventually make them aware of the repercussion these products have on their physical health.

To conclude, I disagree with this thought of burgeoning prices as it can remove the required amount of fat from the platter of people belonging to economic deprived class. However, at the same time, I believe that public should be informed about the consequences it can have so that it can be consumed in a controlled amount.