More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It is true that an increasing number of people from all four corners of the world are flocking to large metropolises day by day, searching for a more contented life. Although there will be some negative consequences of this trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these potential problems.

Due to several differences between urban areas and rural ones, some related drawbacks can be anticipated. The main issue is the escalating living cost, which is perhaps twice as high in countryside. Inhabitants in cities carry the burden of paying higher prices for housing, transport and even clothes. Furthermore, security is also a warning problem. A wide variety of recent surveys points out that the number of robberies in big cities are increasing at a significantly higher speed than ever before. Further pressures include a series of problems around environmental pollution and the fact that welfare of people in major areas are facing with a large quantity of respiratory diseases.

However, there are several actions that governments could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, national budget can be invested in building social houses which costs much more cheaply than private houses to facilitate immigrants’ needs. Secondly, authorities should concern themselves more with security networks such as installing more cameras or introduce new laws about robbery punishment. A third option would be to promote more about public transport and environment-friendly vehicles in order to curb pollution problem.

In conclusion, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to enhance the quality of life for all city residents.