As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views with regard to the issue about social obligations of entrepreneurship. From my point of view, I believe that companies should contribute more to society than simply make money.

On the one hand, I agree that it is of great necessity to gain money in order to survive in such a competitive economic world. It is money that maintains the running systems of business, including state-of-the-art utilities and professional staff. On top of that, they also need to invest in a wide variety of improvements to satisfy customers’ changing needs as well as commercial activities to publicize their commodities for reason of lasting success. If a company’s budget is even not enough to operate those fundamental activities, any concerns about donation is irrelevant. In other words, only with good financial health can a company make a positive contribution to society.

On the other hand, instead of running with the sole aim of maximizing profit, entrepreneurship should also take social obligations into account. One burden that managers carry is to treat their employees well rather than exploiting them. For example, they should usually pay attention to worker’s welfare or organize travelling tours to ensure happy lives for laborers. I also like the idea that businesses could raise funds or perhaps provide financial aids for local charities, environmental projects and educational initiatives. Finally, bosses can devise an annual charity event in which all members of companies could themselves participate, such as planting trees or offering presents .

In conclusion, I firmly believe that companies should place as much importance on their social responsibilities as they do on their financial objectives.