More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

In recent times, migrating to the metropolis, where often seen as places of opportunity, in earning a better life has become a publicity recognized phenomenon. In this essay, I will state some drawbacks of migrating to cities and then suggest some viable solutions the government could do to ensure the urban condition for citizens.

It is universally claimed that the cost of living in a city always higher than it is in the countryside or village as anhabitants of cities have to pay higher prices for housing, transport, and even food. Simultaneously, urban areas tend to suffer from social problems such as high crime and poverty rates in comparison with rural areas in this day and age because of the not-easy life there.. Besides, clearly to be seen from the reality that the air quality in cities is often poor, due to pollution from traffic, and the streets and public transport systems are usually overcrowded. As a consequence, it can be seen that city life can be unhealthy and stressful.

There are various steps that governments could take to tackle these problems to ensure that people have the chance to enjoy a better life. At the societal level, we can invest money in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce the cost of living.What is more, politicians could have the power to ban vehicles from city centres and promote the use of cleaner public transport, which would help to reduce both air pollution and traffic congestion. A telling example would be observed in London, the introduction of a congestion charge for drivers has helped to curb the traffic problem. Additionally, the government could develop provincial towns and rural areas, by moving industry and jobs to those regions, in order to reduce the pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, migrating brings a lot of extremely difficult to the metropolis either material or immaterial aspects. However, governments could implement various measurements to tackle these problems.