More and more people are seriously overweight. Some people suggest the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of people suffering from obesity-related diseases (cardiovascular disease, osteoarthritis, diabetes) is increasing in many countries, this is an alarm that the authorities need to take measures to minimize this situation. There is an opinion that the government should increase the tax rate on unhealthy food items to solve the problem of overweight and obesity for people. In my opinion, I do not agree with this idea.

Firstly, high taxes on fattening food are not the best solution to health problems. Genetic factors, unscientific eating, and unhealthy lifestyle, often staying up late, sedentary can all cause obesity. As can be seen, dietary factors are not the only cause of obesity, consequently thus it is not strict to only target foods that contain too much sugar, fat, and calories. Furthermore, this measure does not really work, to illustrate, Thailand is a country that applies a special tax on soft drinks to reduce the number of children suffering from obesity. However, this figure has not only decreased but also improved steadily over the years. And citizens can circumvent the law by going to countries that do not impose high taxes on fattening food to buy or eat on the spot.

Admittedly, the effect is directly on the pockets of producers and consumers as they can immediately reduce the consumption of obesity-causing foods and increase national revenue. Nevertheless, the application of a special tax for this food group is still unreasonable, though the state has an additional revenue to the national budget, it has huge economic consequences. For example, Denmark, a country that pioneered this policy, but had to abandon it after a few years due to the economic effects when businesses lost revenue and reduced sales, leading to a lack of jobs for people, inflation.

In conclusion, instead of imposing special taxes on fatty foods, authorities should raise people's awareness of self-protection and health care such as nutrition education programs, increased physical activity, and encouragement of food production enterprises healthy products.