More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of people suffering from obesity is on the rise. While some believe that increasing fattening food prices can solve this problem, I hold a different perspective.

On the one hand, Obesity caused by a wide range of factors, such as insufficient physical activity, an unhealthy diet, mental health problems, and fattening food is just one of the various leading causes. Although increasing the cost of food riching in fat can prevent people from purchasing them, therefore reducing the higher risk of obesity, It might not ensure people maintain their weight sustainably unless they also eliminate other culprits leading to that health problem. Moreover, for those money is not a problem, this solution may not bring any positive effects.

Besides being not enough efficient, this policy can also put manufacturers and businesses in danger of bankrupt, hence thousands of employees might be made redundant. Despite the detrimental effects on our health, fattening foods, for example, sweets, chocolate or fast food are one of the best sale products due to their very affordable prices. When the costs rise, sales of this kind of food can drastically decrease as people will transform to other economical ways, for instance, cooking at home instead of visiting their favorite pizza joints. As a result, many companies, and restaurants might be closed since being unable to confront such an immediate situation, leading to a huge number of people being out of work. This is another challenge, requiring effort to address.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that increasing the costs of fattening products might not be effective, but also brings another negative effect. Those who are suffering from obesity, in my opinion, should be encouraged to create a healthy lifestyle in all aspects of life.