1. More and more people are seriously overweight. Some people suggest the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The downside of modernization and convenience is the increase in unhealthy lifestyles and poor eating habits. That can cause a variety of health issues. Some people suggest that the govern-ment should raise the tax on fattening foods in order to address these concerns. However, I disa-gree with this proposal.

Nowadays, the number of people who are overweight or even obese is on the rise. One of the rea-sons is supposed to derive from the fattening foods that are commonly known as “fast food,” such as French fries, soft drinks, and hamburgers. These foods are inexpensive and simple to obtain, and they are also well-liked by a large number of consumers. These temptations make them una-ble to stop buying. As a result, they gain weight. However, the crucial reason for weight prob-lems is unhealthy lifestyles. For example, people tend to spend numerous hours sitting when they use computers or smartphones for work or recreation, which can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. This will facilitate fat accumulation in their bodies, which is a source of different weight-related ailments, such as heart disease, diabetes, and obesity. If they have fast food with a reasonable portion combined with regular exercise, diseases related to weight will be decreased. Further-more, educating people about a healthy diet and lifestyle through the media or in schools can help to reduce weight problems effectively. With the provided information, they will be aware of the pros and cons of the problem and can choose the best way to deal with it.

Admittedly, increasing taxes on fattening foods may have a certain effect on the buying rate, the fast-food industry contributes a large proportion to the revenue and employment of a country. If this industry declines in production, the government may face various negative consequences. However, food is not the only reason for overweight or even obesity; this means that the issue will not be addressed by raising the price of fattening foods.

In conclusion, the most effective way to limit weight problems is through a positive lifestyle and a proper perspective on dieting.