More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern lifestyle which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicine should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Even though modern medicine has increased life expectancy, the overall quality of life has taken a plunge due to health problems caused by the sedentary lifestyle. While some recommend a return to traditional medicine, I am convinced of a combination of classical and state-of-the-art medicines to adequately address the situation.

On the one hand, various types of old ways of treatment are highly suggested to solve some problems. For example, in order to deal with insomnia, an older treating treatment called acupuncture can be more effective than chemical drugs. In addition, most types of conventional methods are based on herbs and plants which are normally consistent with human nature and may have positive action. For instance, people use garlic for preventing the flu, and it also strengthen the immune system.

On the other hand, although traditional medicines are effective in treating some health conditions, they are not designed to manage the issue caused by the lack of physical activity in today's society. Compared to the old generation, young adults nowadays facing obesity, diabetes, and depression caused by a sedentary lifestyle, and these types of problems can only be treated with modern technology. Moreover, modern medicine is defined by tremendous advances in the understanding of human health and the ability to moderate the course of chronic diseases, correct disabling physical conditions, and cure molecular deficiencies. However, there are a lot of known and unknown side effects because they have not been in the market for long. The cost and availability of folk medicine are is also outweigh the contemporary one. For example, current medicines take lots of time and research to come up with few treatments while traditional remedies are available everywhere.

In conclusion, modern lifestyle has created medical problems that were absent in the past when humans consumed more natural products and exercised more. Therefore, I recommend a combination of both traditional and modern medicine to create a harmonious balance and bring the best result in curing people.