More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Education has crossed territorial boundaries and its importance cannot be emphasized more. Most people avail cross border education in various universities. In this essay I would elucidate the problems they may encounter and discuss the merits and demerits of studying abroad with cogent examples

In the recent era of globalization, the accessibility to various international universities have made the options more promising. Many pupils opt to go to other countries for further academics during which they do come across certain predicaments like learning new language, arranging accommodations, monetary constraints, loneliness, making new friends, workplace adjustments, nostalgia, acclimatization with new climate, cultural shock and sometimes racial discrimination. For instance, many Indian students who go abroad to study are overburdened with financial loans for their studies and they miss the authentic Indian cuisine which is not easily available in those countries.

On the other hand, there are favourable culminations of international study prospects. It widens your horizons, eliminates orthodox views and narrow thinking, gives multicultural understanding and acceptance and helps the student to become self-reliant. Furthermore, it also gives them better job opportunities to progress further. For example, many immigrant students have to work part-time, learn cooking, manage finances on their own. This eventually aids them to transform into matured individuals.

To conclude it is undeniable that the advantages outweigh the shortcomings of choosing to study in other countries. This will evolve and escalate in times to come and education will become omnipresent creating better individuals and opportunities.