It is sometimes said that people who do work that is physically hard should be paid as much as people who do work that needs high-level qualifications. Do you agree or disagree?

The dignity of labor has been largely forgotten in the modern world. The gap between the wages earned for jobs involving hard work and the salary of positions requiring a piece of paper with letters on it has never been higher. I agree with the ideology of promoting fairness in pay scales between more physical and more mental ways of selling one’s labor. It will promote greater equality and reinvigorate an undervalued working class.

First of all, the craftsmanship and care required to perform much of what is deemed manual labor is being underestimated. The bus driver working 12 hours at a stretch behind the wheel, the railroad worker fixing worn train lines and the bricklayer building a wall that needs to last for decades, these workers have just as much impact, if not more, on people’s everyday well being as does a doctor, who is only seen when one is sick. Their skills may not be so readily apparent, but their absence would be sorely felt. It is the working class that keeps modernity running smoothly and safely, and they deserve respect and a wage worthy of their role.

Another reason to reward hard, physical, difficult labor has to do with basic dignity and human rights. As the world develops, society evolves out of a history when often the most menial jobs were imposed on an underclass who had no other choice. The caste system of India is a prime example of this. Throughout the world, wage slavery meant the choice was to do what was offered or starve. In the more egalitarian world coming out of the Industrial revolution, due to labor unions and other factors, the labor market has changed. Garbage collectors, sewer workers and carpet layers can earn as much as with their hands as teachers, sales people or civil servants do with their minds. For those hard-earned rights of the working class to erode away would be a tremendous loss.

In summary, physically demanding labor often plays a vital role in today’s world and we should celebrate the dignity of labor.