More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem.

The obesity of the young in wealthy nations has been a concern in many parts of the world. I personally believe that some critical factors contribute to this, and this causes many issues.

There is no denying that there are various reasons for overweight children in developed countries. One of them is associated with unhealthy diet schemes as their parents are too overwhelmed with work to prepare nutritious-balanced meals at home. In addition, kids lacking knowledge about nutrients are more likely to consume junk foods when feeling hungry, causing the growing likelihood of obesity. Another one is that the young tend to become lazy. Due to study pressures, children complete homework to fulfill demands from their parents and teachers. Thus, they usually feel exhausted and spend spare time on their favorite TV shows or video games instead of physical activities such as soccer or swimming after school.

This trend is responsible for many detrimental effects on both individuals and society. Firstly, overweight kids are able to suffer highly from physical illness and mental disorders. For example, they could face heart disease or be criticized, resulting in the appearance of depression. Moreover, their parents must manage to spend more time caring for them, leading to their lower labor productivity. If the number of obese children still increases, the government will have to remarkably finance medical healthcare methods to minimize this rather than invest in other necessary policies such as poverty reduction and forest conservation, which may decelerate the development of the community.

In conclusion, there are many reasons related to overweight children, particularly owing to unhealthy lifestyles. I recognize that this also leads to other impacts on children's and social development.