More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

At present, people tend to bear a child at a higher age as compared to the past time. There are several reasons for this.

Firstly, in these days, with a rise in demand for more and more skilled workers, people study till a higher age. As a result, the average age of starting employment has also shifted to a further level, and that of marriage has risen to nearly 30 years. Secondly, due to a low salary as compared to the expenses of living, married people consider it wise to save an adequate amount of money before having a child. Finally, young people, nowadays, also have a mindset of staying independent as long as they can, that is without having to bear the responsibility of raising a child.

In my opinion, there are several drawbacks to this practice, which outweigh its advantages. First and foremost, for bearing a child at a higher age, there is a health risk for the mother; she may contract chronic medical conditions such as back pain, body disfigurement etcetera. Also, there is scientific evidence that a mother aged above 30 is at a higher risk of maternal death than a younger one. Furthermore, at an older age, parents are less able to fulfil the emotional and physical needs of their offspring, for example, at the age of, say 34, a mother may not even be able to carry her baby or play with it due to weakness in the body.

In conclusion, although it may seem reasonable to have children at a later age, there are severe drawbacks of this practice for both the parents as well as the children.