More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is said that these days, individual information such as address and telephone number of those who use the Internet-based areas, for instance, social networks and online banking services, is revealed increasingly more. In my opinion, I believe that this circumstance is both positive and negative.

On the one hand, revealing personal information online has a number of advantages for both users and the government. Firstly, when there is an illegal attempt from a stranger to enter the users' account, Facebook, for example, will send a warning message or email through the email given by its customers. It would be more straightforward for the service providers in addressing the unexpected security problems of their users. Secondly, for banking purposes, the bank staff could minimize their mistakes in exchanging the amount of money between private accounts as well as take the customers' data as a cornerstone for the complicated complaints related to legislation.

On the other hand, despite the security policies, there are potential drawbacks on that more people put their individual data online. New scams appear on the social networking areas that are conducted by incognito hackers to steal users' information for their illegal commercial purposes. Furthermore, Internet users might be threatened to pay for the loans which have extreme interest and even suffer from the government's punishment in case they can not show any evidence and proof for their innocence.

In conclusion, although it brings along a variety of benefits for Internet-based areas users to put their personal data online, there are unpredictable problems that have been resolved by the government.