More people put their personal information online (address, telephone number…) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the century of technology development, there is an increasing number of people who have their personal information published on the internet for the use of banking or social networks. This brings about both positive and negative effects for the convenience it provides and the risk of information leaking for illegal purposes. The essay below will explain further.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that online banking or fintech applications allow faster payment process as well as become an aid when you forget to bring your cash. For example, in Vietnam, most of the stores now accept of pay via Momo or online bank transfer, the money will arrive at the receivers’ account right after 30 seconds or 1 minutes, it is equal to paying by cash. Another example is, with these information, no matter where you are, you can easily open a saving book in a fintech application which offers higher interest rate than a traditional saving book at the offline bank.

On the other hand, while shopping online on the social networks such as Facebook or Tiktok shop, customers might unintentionally give their address, phone number to the unreliable sellers. This might trigger the threat of private information being sold for harassment or illegal actions. For instance, a lot of Vietnameses are being disturbed by telesales of stocks, English courses or online betting platforms, or even being pranked to steal money. The above-mentioned problems result in higher criminal rates, and create unnecessary disturbance for the citizens.

All in all, despite the convenient and time-saving advantages of the online payment technologies, people have to careful consider about the drawbacks it might have and the matter of protecting private information to make use of the development.