More tasks at home and work are being done by robots. Do the pros outweigh the cons?

Like many other domains, houses and workplaces have witnessed the increasing involvement of technology in recent years. From my perspective, despite possible over-reliance on robots and unemployment, this phenomenon brings about more good than bad due to higher performance, reduced accidents and its solution to labour shortages.

On the one hand, technological participation could pose several threats to humans. Firstly, over-dependence on automatic devices can arise as robots have greater productivity than human beings. Hence, this might lead to the loss of fundamental skills like cooking skills or problem-solving skills. Another consequence of allowing machines to do housework and professional tasks is unemployment, especially among manual workers. Given that companies can receive a higher yield with robots and do not need to pay wages, employers would prefer them to human workers, which later results in social unrest.

However, there are more merits than demerits of this tendency. The first advantage is the greater efficiency of automatic devices as they are pre-programmed and require no rest. Therefore, an enormous amount of time would be saved, enabling humans to do other tasks like relaxing or socializing. Additionally, various accidents can be avoided if organizations apply technological advances to dangerous works such as mining or construction, thus saving several millions of dollars for insurance fees and legal fees. Finally, the labour shortage in many developed countries like Japan, Germany and Korea would be solved as a sophisticated machine can replace hundreds of workers, relieving pressure on seeking the workforce from other nations.

In conclusion, although there are some problems attached to machinery interference, it is evident that automation in homes and workplaces has brought about significant social and financial benefits.