Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development; however, others think the social value is lost as a result of economic development. To what extent do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, economic development is one of the most important factors that every country should focus on. However, some people believe that it is the main reason for the lost social values. Although there exist some drawbacks, I still believe that its advantages do outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, boosting the nation’s economy helps enhance citizen’s life in different aspects such as living standard, health care and education. The wealthier the country is the more jobs it creates and thus the unemployment rate also witness a significant decline. Moreover, economic development helps people grant an access to modern health care which makes them happier and gets rid of anxiety, and thus increase the working productivity. Another benefit is by investing money in the education sector, the qualification of teachers, subjects as well as facilities at schools will also be improved, consequently, a child will receive more quality education programs which helps them develop a better career in the future.

On the other hand, one of the major drawbacks of economic development is the losing social values it caused. While nuclear families become popular, and due to the economic expansion, both parents have to spend most of their time at an office, leaving their kids at home alone. As a result, a child may not be well educated and thus lose some valuable social lessons. For example, lots of children nowadays do not show respect to elderly people, and some with lacks of basic communication skills become socially alienated. Moreover, it even worse while being unsupervised, these kids easily engage in antisocial activities and commit crimes.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the benefits which are brought by the economic advancement of a country do outweigh its disadvantages. Most of the negative effects are due to the lack of consideration from parents and families to children, thus by raising the awareness of them may help solve the problem.