Most developed countries spend a large proportion of their health budgeys on expensive medical technology and procedures. This money should be spent instead on health education to keep people well. To what extent do you agree with this

Health education has been taken by many countries as a great mission. Spending a huge sum of money, is thought by many that, required for the expensive advanced medical treatments and procedures. Whereas, it is considered by some that, money should be used to give health education. In my opinion, although health education can tackle certain diseases, it is not always possible in case of emergencies.

To begin with, since health education has a limited role to meet numerous diseases, the focus should be on the treatment. For example, serious accident cases require many diagnostic evaluations and surgeries, it is certainly expensive, but health education will not save the life here. In addition, certain illnesses such as cancer and stroke can not cure with preventive measures. Similarly, hereditary ailments like cardiac problems need surgeries and psychological problems need proper medication, these would not cure with only health education.

Furthermore, in spite of continuous awareness programs through television, people may not have the discipline to keep away from unhealthy practices. To illustrate, despite having the knowledge about fast food related health issues, many people consume it, because of its taste.

However, providing health education would prevent many epidemic diseases like small pox, bird flu and so on. Secondly, it would help people to follow hygienic practices which will help them to avoid spreading of many diseases. Moreover, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases would be eradicated with effective health education.

In conclusion, even though delivering an effective health education can prevent many diseases, it can not reduce the cost of treatment which required in emergency situations. Hence, despite of spending more money for health education, the focus should be on advanced treatment and procedures to maintain the health of the people.