Most developed countries spend a large proportion of their health budgets on expensive medical technology and procedures. This money should be spent instead on health education to keep people well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, most developed countries allocate the bulk of their coffers for high-priced healthcare equipment and treatments. While this has some clear inevitable advantages, I believe this money should be diverted into health education in order to prevent citizens from ailments and diseases.

It is understandable why many developed nations invest more of their budget in medical technology and operation. Firstly, advanced medical technology this practice will ensure more accurate and effective diagnosis as well as treatments. As a result, patients could save time and money because of appropriate therapies they receive. Secondly, modern medical technology plays an integral part in research of new diseases. For example, without the advancement of medical science, humans could hardly have discovered new virus and bacteria which are the root cause of many highly infectious diseases.

However, I am convinced that government should put greater emphasis on health education as it is much more valuable and essential for a healthier nationals. Once people have enough knowledge and information about healthcare, they would be nudged towards more healthier lifestyle choices, such as switching from processed food to organic ingredients. Moreover, some negative habits, say, abusing alcohol or smoking which could lead to serious illnesses relating to blood pressure and vital organs, can be reduced eliminated. In addition to improving overall health quality, campaigns that raise public awareness about healthcare and health problems could protect most vulnerable population. As medical fees have been inexorably increasing in recent years, low-income people may find it hard to impossibly afford prescription and treatment charges. Therefore, if they are aware of the ways to keep themselves healthy robust, they can decrease the chance decrease chance of having to go to the going to hospital for treatment.

In conclusion, while there are benefits of spending more budgets on medical technology and procedures, I opine that major investment should be provided for health education.