Some believe that lot of scientific research is a waste of time and money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some are of the opinion that it is pointless investing time and means in the science industry as most outcomes are improbable. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this view and will further elaborate in this essay.

It is undeniable that scientific research is counterproductive. Vague as the purposes might be, scientists dedicate themselves to these studies. Some of these research projects may take years to be proven right; however, there is no certainty that a breakthrough will be produced. Moreover, self-proclaimed scientists, whose sole desire is recognition, are inventing impractical products, namely the umbrella shoes or the walking sleeping bag.

Having said that, the science industry has made remarkable progress in unveiling mysteries around the world, which has contributed to enlarge human's understanding. Breakthrough can be elucidated with the supplied knowledge obtained from scientific research; hence an encouragement to allocate for the industry. To illustrate the case, the invention of Kepler Space Telescope has allowed us to broaden our knowledge of the outer space with the confirmation of over 2700 exoplanets.

Furthermore, scientific breakthoughs help facilitating human's life. Over the past few centuries, some discoveries and inventions have marked noteworthy milestones; therefore have made immense contribution in uplifting human society. Without science, treatments to fatal diseases like plague or cancer would not be found and we might never have chance to access the Internet. As a prime example for the case, new avenues to preventing the spread of HIV have been opened thanks to scientists' dedicated studies.

In conclusion, I believe that there are more reason to encourage the allocation of time and funds for the promotion of scientific research. It is predicted that science will continue to play an irreplaceable role in human's quest for knowledge.