The most important aim of science is to improve people's lives. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that helping people’s lives get better is the main purpose of science. I strongly agree with this perspective, as I believe that our standards of living have evolved a lot since many inventions were come up.

First of all, science has the potential to help us solve the most stressful problems all over the world. This is because most of the inventions were created when people went through the most frustrating time in the past, such as pandemics, famine, drought, poverty, war…For example, the vaccine Covid-19 has been developed since an enormous number of populations died in 2020 due to the invasion of Coronavirus. Thanks to that, people nowadays continue to live normally again. While it is true that some inventions can lead to unintended consequences especially new technologies and artificial intelligence will result in thousands of workers losing their job, this is an adaptation for the high-quality careers appealing to the workforce.

Furthermore, the existence of science can widen humankind’s knowledge, since science can help eliminate doubts about unknown things happening in society. For instance, in the past folks usually saw blue sparks floating above the graves and they assumed that they were ghosts, which nowadays we discover that the reaction of phosphate in the bones of those who have just passed away to the oxygen in the atmosphere.

In conclusion, the ultimate goal of science is to make our life much better with the great effort of a lot of geniuses over a long period. In my point of view, science helps us to walk through the darkest time in the past and move forwards to modernization.