In many cities, planners have separated schools, homes, shops, cities into specific areas which are widely separated from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages for the city resident or it is the opposite? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In urban areas around the world, many schools, shops have been widely separated into particular places, which are far away from each other by government. This essay will discuss that whether this policy brings benefits more than drawbacks to citizens and demonstrate my personal view on this idea.

There are a number of significant benefits to separating public services. First of all, this can contribute good environment to residents. People will have a better place to live and this also improve their personal health. Their children can study and play better in school areas. For example, separating schools can make students stay away from noise and emission from factory. In addition, people who live in these residential areas can prevent from exhaust fume of means of transport like cars, trucks… Furthermore, this policy actually builds a convenient life for many locals. With rising of department stores and complex buildings, residents can easily access to a wide range of goods in just one place.

Despite this, one commonly cited disadvantage of separating areas is that it takes much amount of our time. This is because the farther these areas are from each other, the more time we spend commuting between these places. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh City, the area called “university village”, which consists of many branches of universities and colleges, is so far from the city center that pupils are usually tired of commuting to these place, although these places have better education infrastructure to learn. Eventually, this program places a greater strain on economy. Larger number of specific areas requires more facilities to be built to accommodate them such as roads, bridges and gas stations…

In conclusion, although there are many negative sites on this idea, the positive ones of this policy can be denied. On balance, I would argue that government just needs to divide some main public services like schools and factory and keep some convenient ones in a residential area such as stores, hospital.