In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In most of the countries all over the world, there is a significant increase in the number of people moving from the countryside to cities. This essay will discuss whether this change is beneficial or harmful to development nowadays.

From my perspective, the shift of population in places to live has had positive and negative impacts. The working-age population has more chances to approach the integration of countries and a wide range of opportunities for jobs in major cities, where most international corporations choose to trade products and look for a highly skilled workforce. Furthermore, people easily have access to well-equipped public infrastructure when moving to cities such as hospitals, administrative centers, …

On the other hand, this mass migration has resulted in placing a greater strain on public services due to the fact that the government cannot take care of all people properly at the same time and some citizens may be ignored and neglected. In addition, the abundance of the population in many large cities leads to a shortage of residence, which means that many people cannot find a place to live when they migrate to urban areas.

In conclusion, I would argue that the migration of rural people to urban regions is generally positive, as they now have greater opportunities to join the jobs market and are accessible to public infrastructure. However, from my point of view, the overwhelming of public services and the lack of residence are problems that the government should attempt to address.