The most important aim of science ought to be to improve people’s lives.

Scientists are pushing back the frontiers of knowledge every day and we have harnessed science to tackle our daily tasks. Some argue that the primary purpose of science should be enhancing the living standards of humans. I completely agree with this idea and in this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

Those who contend that sometimes scientists do the research just in the hope of adding to their knowledge. They consider science as a fundamental tool to fulfill their curiosity instead of imagining how their discoveries will benefit the general populace. A standout example of this would be the invention of Laws of Motion when Issac Newton was only curious about the reason behind the fall of an apple. For the average researcher, concentrating on understanding the functional role of nature is a valid and potentially productive mindset. However, this interpretation of science does not reflect the real-world demands placed on science.

On the other hand, science has always been a platform to improve the lives of ordinary people in many aspects. Throughout history, it has helped mankind conquer dangerous plagues such as the Black Death pandemic or Covid-19. When it comes to technology, science can be seen as subordinate to the arts and the enjoyment of the average person. The entire purpose of developing technologies such as mobile phones and computers is to allow users to broaden their horizons, entertain, and connect with others. Therefore, the highest aim of science is ultimately only to help humans boost their self-growth.

Overall, the foundation of science should be improving life and other purposes can not represent its origin. Scientists should focus on research for the benefit of humanity to help our society develop better.