Most people are becoming overweight. Some say that raising the price of fatty foods will solve this problem to what extent do you agree or disagree.

A large fraction of the population has been suffered from the problem of obesity worldwide. The majority of masses argue that for solving this problem increase the price of fat-generating food is an effective method. I disagree with the given notion and the reasons for supporting my viewpoint are discussed in upcoming paragraphs.

To commence with, the first and the foremost reason is it would lead to inflation. To make it clear, if the government increases the price of fatty foods, it will affect every sector such as transportation and daily need things, as a result of this locals will have to spend more money on basic commodities. For instance, according to an article published in 'The Hindu', it was demonstrated that in Spain, the government increased the price of packed food for controlling the demand for that food but it also impacted negatively on the inflation rate, it increased by 2% due to this action. Apart from this, the government should promote a healthy lifestyle instead of leaping the prices of food as every food contains fat, health is more focused on a healthy diet and lifestyle as compared to eating fatty food. Moreover, wealthy people will not affect by the high price of food, as they are hooked on that particular type of food item. Thus, watchdogs of government and individuals can solve the problem of obesity without leap the price of food.

On the other hand, the high price of fatty food items may refrain people from adding extra fat to their diet, which ultimately reduces obesity. Additionally, it can decrease the risk of other diseases. To be precise, fatty food is the secondary reason for heart attack and it can be controlled by increasing the price of food, it also results positive for tackling other diseases, which occur due to an unbalanced diet. For example, recent studies have revealed that in India, more than 70,000 heart patients were registered every year and the main reason behind it is the poor diet of patients. Therefore, increasing the food prices can be a good decision from a few's point of view.

To sum up, although the high prices are necessary for improving the health status of individuals, yet other production methods are there for tackling the problem of obesity.