Motor vehicle crashes are one of the leading causes of teen deaths. To prevent such road accidents, the government should ban people under 24 to drive motorcycles.

Over the past few years it has been observed that motorcycle fatalities have risen steeply among teenagers. There are many people who believe that the government must completely restrict those below 24 years of age from riding two wheeler motor vehicles. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay I will bolster my opinion with examples.

The current trend rampant among teenagers is the need for speed over safety. Teenagers have the desire for a new thrilling experience at every moment of their life which causes them to use the accelerator like toy, while paying no heed to the brakes. A study conducted by MIT shows that people in the age of 14 to 22 use the brakes 10 times less often in comparison to adults in high speed scenarios. The social pressure on youngsters to be cool also drives them to picking speed over protection. A study conducted by the Boston emergency ward found out that the number of fatal injuries among youngsters were mainly due to high speeds and the lack of any protective gear.

In addition, the psychological and hormonal factors also contribute a great deal towards bike related fatalities. The mental situation of teenagers are formed is a manner that encourages them to disregard safe driving. For instance the psychology department at UCLA conducted a psychological test that found out that their teenager students in their campus had a subconscious mental inclination for driving recklessly. Similarly hormones play a role for deaths among teenagers riding bikes. The need for an adrenaline rush is very common among young adults. A test conducted by the CVS pharmacy showed youngsters being highly addicted to the rush of adrenaline.

To summarize, the government should ban those under 24 years form riding a motorcycle. I completely agree with this statement since their judgement is adversely affected due to psychological and hormonal factors.