Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and that having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that employees are constantly conflicted with the thoughts of job security and job satisfaction. While some people say that being content with your job takes precedence over the security of having a job, others argue that having a job is better than being happy with your job. I completely agree with the latter argument. This essay will bolster my opinion by discussing both sides of the topic.

Firstly, being content with your job has always played an important role when a person wants to grow in their profession. That is employees who love what they do have a growing zeal to excel at it. This allows them to upgrade their skills to stand out from the crowd. As a result the make a better life for themselves by growing professionally. For example a study conducted by the university of Florida showed that employees who were happy with their jobs had a 72% chance to be promoted in comparison to their peers who had 28% chance to be promoted.

That being said, job security on the other hand ensures that ones basic needs are always met through a guaranteed source of income. To elaborate, a person needs money to meet his / her daily needs such as food, clothing and shelter. These needs can only be obtained through financial resources provided by an employment. For example, if a person needs something as basic as bread he/she would need a minimum wage job which they may not necessarily like. Thus it is my opinion that job security takes priority in comparison to job satisfaction, since the former guarantees basic needs.

To summarize, although job satisfaction provides a way for people to grow, job security ensures that one can meet their basic needs to survive. Hence in my opinion job guarantee outweighs job satisfaction.