Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Developing highways helped our society travel faster and more efficient, however, this modern trend of transportation cause many problems. This essay will outline and discuss some of them and their negative impact to our modern society.

Firstly, motorways have been built to increase speed and cut time of travel from point A to point B. Average speed on motorway is 110 km per hour, however, in Germany, some most of builded freeways are unlimited in speed. Driving in high speed is enormously dangerous, especially for young and eldery drivers. Their cognitive functions are poor and in statistics mostly these drivers cause serious motor vehicle accidents with several consequences. In contrast, young drivers, more likely speeding and in high speed making mistake, but, eldery drivers are over conscious and likely over fear. Speeding in highways cost many lives and destroy many families. If crash is not fatal, serious injuries can put aside till that time economically productive individual.

Secondly, motorways are poison for our environment. As fast is car moving as more pollutions are exposed into the air. This alert have been recently presented to German government, when many studies proved higher percentage of pollution than around regular road. German government react to this situation with implementing new law to reduce speed in majority unlimited speed motorways to speed limit of 130 kilometres per hour, when average speed measured by highway patrol was 180 kilometres per hour. Ecological institutions and local councils believe, that speed reduction helps to return fauna and flora back where it came from.

To sum up, highways as much made our daily routine easier and boosted economic, its impact to our modern society is significant. Safety and ecological awareness must go first despite advantages we getting from this modern development.