Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, while others think people should be free to choose. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, extreme sports have been increasingly popular among both sportsmen and non-athletes. It is argued that due to a high degree of risk, governments should prohibit these sports. This essay will put through both viewpoints before my opinion is presented.

People who support banning adventure sports usually give two main reasons for their point of view. It is undeniable that people doing these sports are more likely to be injured than others. Not just ordinary people, but also professional athletes, might all be vulnerable to breaking their bones or different body parts, even fatal injuries might occur. Another notable reason for forbidding dangerous sports is that the number of immature youngsters attempting these activities in excess can be limited. Indeed, disallowing it could be an ideal way to make them value their life more than the excitement when trying adventurous activities as young people may be unaware of the consequences that implementing this type of sport might involve.

Nonetheless, it would be pointless to illegalise extreme sports. One of the most significant reasons for this is that adventure sports are also effective ways to relieve stress for many people. Since they consider adventure sports their leisure time hobbies, a prohibition cannot stop people from enforcing them as underground events. More importantly, there are still numerous sportsmen who compete in these sports at several international sporting events. For instance, sports that seem dangerous such as diving and mountain climbing are featured by hundreds of athletes in the Olympic Games, bringing home medals for their respective countries. Thus, it is unfair to ban these sports even from either sporting events or real life.

In conclusion, despite being fatally dangerous, extreme sports have already played a significant role in many people’s lives. Hence, I am inclined to think that they should not be banned. To minimise the consequences of such sports, the government should regulate them properly and limit the age of attempters.