n the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion?

These days, thanks to the help of internet-connected devices, people are able to perform daily tasks without face-to-face interaction. From my perspective, despite being reasonable to a certain extent, this enhancement adversely brings along detrimental effects.

It is undeniable that the internet provides individuals with more simplicity in shopping, working and communicating. Firstly, communication is now much more convenient as the outcome of internet’s accompany. With some instant clicks on the screen, the process of exchanging information can be done within minutes, requiring users considerably less amount of time to commute to places for direct contacts. A typical example of this is, weren’t for internet-connected devices, it would be impossible of the public to perform conversations despite times and places. Moreover, as the time spending on these activities enormously reduces, it empowers humans to simultaneously multitask works, which results in more desirable working performance, time available for recreation and so forth.

In the other hand, I strongly believe that internet negatively affects people rather than benefit them. To begin with, limited face-to-face interaction during one’s life acts as a catalyst in making them socially isolated. This is attributed to rare direct contacts with others, as some individuals excessively hinge on doing things online and prefer to stay at home 24/7. For instance, emerging cases of Japanese citizens, known as “Hikikomori”, have been recently reported of not leaving their hours for months except for buying fast food. Furthermore, if less face-to-face appointments were held, there would be higher tendency among the youth to undergo their teenage years lonely instead of approaching to other communities.

Although the internet supplies people with certain advantages, I reckon that their detrimental effects are unacceptable, strengthen my notion of this being a negative development.